Ryall last gasp goal secures Junior Win

The Boardsmill Junior’s were out in action on a blistery Sunday morning at home against St. Peter’s, Dunboyne in the Donal O’Lionsigh Cup. Looking to build on their win last week against Clann na Gael, the ‘Mill side were quick to get proceedings underway with a point from play from David Farrell.

However a Dunboyne side, full of running, were ready for action and scored 4 unanswered points in the first 5 minutes. One being an excellent point from a side line cut from almost the 45 yard line. Boardsmill responded with a free converted by the Bernard McLoughlin. However the Dunboyne side, continued their scoring ways and netted a goal from play within the first 10 minutes of play. Scores were traded most notable from the consisten Bernard McLoughlin on frees and an excellent point from the half way line from Tadhg Cotter on only his second game at this level. Having the speed of Thomas Leonard and Eric McKay, kept the boys in blue in the game. The earlier mentioned Leonard went on one of his searing runs 22 minutes into the first half and drilled the ball into the back of the Dunboyne net. They went into the half time break a point down 1-09 (12) to 1.10 (13).

Having made a couple of substitutions at the half time break to give the ‘Mill boys some fresh legs, seemed to make the difference in the two sides. McLoughlin and Kennedy were unlucky not to score a goal a piece in a wonderful passage of play in the second half for the lads. The Dunboyne side will rue their chances as their wide tally mounted up. After the second water break the fresh legs on the home side seem to really pull away and a brilliant point converted by the young Eric Cribbin assisted the side in the win. Boardmsill were consistent and accurate with their scoring, none so then Cormac Ryall who has a habit of sneaking a goal a game these days and did so in the dying minutes of the game. Final score went to the young McLoughlin to secure the win for the Boardsmill lads. Final score 2-16 (22) to 1-14 (17).

Boardsmill Team: 1 – Vinny Guy, 2 – Eamonn Roche, 3 – Stephen Gibbons, 4 – Diarmuid Whelan, 5 – Tadhg Cotter (0-01), 6 – Sean Newman, 7 – Thomas Leonard, 8 – Eric McKay (0-02), 9 – Jim Roche, 10 – Cormac Ryall (1-0), 11 – David Farrell (0-02), 12 – Thomas Eivers (1-01), 13 – Aidan McGrath, 14 – Bernard McLoughlin (0-08 (4f)), 15 – James Ashe.

Subs: off: Diarmuid Whelan  on: Ciaran McLoughlin, off: James Ashe  on: Ray Hatton (0-01), off: Eric McKay  on: Eric Cribbin (0-01), Cormac Ryall on: Michael Kennedy, off: Thomas Eivers  on: Cormac Ryall

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s